One-Club Award | Athletic Club Official Website

One-Club Award

One-Club Award

The award

The One-Club Man and the One-Club Woman Awards were created in 2015 and 2019, respectively. The award is presented to footballers who spent their entire professional career signed to a single team, and therefore demonstrated values which reflect Athletic Club’s own identity as a football club.

The winners always collect the trophy in front of the San Mamés faithful during half-time at an Athletic Club game. The recipient is accompanied to the centre-circle by Athletic’s record appearance holder, José Ángel Iribar, and Lezama’s youngest representative, who then present the winner with the award.



Towards the club that placed their trust in a young, promising player and developed that player into an elite footballer.


To fostering a football culture that encourages a mutual sense of belonging among fans and players.


Towards the cultural identity of the club, the place it belongs to and its fans.


Ensuring that the sporting spirit of the game always prevails and that the equality between participants is protected.


For all fans, whose passion is the raw material that enriches football.

One-Club Award Winners
One-Club Man 2020
Ryan Giggs
Manchester United FC

Manchester United legend Ryan Giggs is the sixth -and most recent- winner of the One-Club Man Award. The Welsh footballer played 963 games for the Red Devils during a 24-season spell that lasted from 1991 until 2014. His 35 career titles make him the most decorated player in the history of English football. San Mamés is impatiently waiting for the state of alarm caused by the coronavirus pandemic to end, so that the award ceremony to honour the Old Trafford idol can take place.

One-Club Woman 2020
Pia Wunderlich
FFC Frankfurt

Renowned international footballer and 2003 World Champion, Pia Wunderlich is the second winner of the One-Club Woman Award. Pia spent her entire professional career at women’s football club, 1.FFC Frankfurt and won a host of trophies. In 16 seasons with the German side, from 1993 until 2009, she won three UEFA Women’s Champions Leagues, six Bundesligas and seven domestic cups. Eli Ibarra, Athletic Club Women’s record appearance holder, will present the German midfielder with the trophy when possible.

One-Club Man 2019
Billy McNeill
Celtic FC

Celtic legend and captain of 18 seasons, Billy McNeil was the fifth person to win the One-Club Man Award. In his time at Celtic he played in 822 official matches, becoming the Scottish club’s record appearance holder in the process. A tribute was paid to the centre-back during half-time of Athletic’s fixture against Celta de Vigo on Sunday, May 12, 2019. As McNeil had unfortunately died three weeks earlier, the award was picked up by his daughter Susan and former Celtic teammate, John Clark.

One-Club Woman 2019
Malin Moström
Umeå IK

Malin Moström was the first recipient of the One-Club Woman Award. An Umeå I.K. player for 12 seasons, her trophy cabinet is full to the brim. In addition to a World Cup runners-up medal and a UEFA Women’s Euro winners medal with Sweden, she has won six leagues, four domestic cups and two UEFA Women’s Champions Leagues with Umeå I.K.  The award ceremony was held on Saturday, April 27, 2019, during half-time of the match between Athletic Club and Deportivo Alavés.

One-Club Man 2018
Carles Puyol
FC Barcelona

Carles Puyol, former Barcelona defender and captain, was the fourth winner of the One-Club Man Award. The centre-back spent 15 seasons at his boyhood club, appearing in 593 official matches for Barcelona between 1999/00 and 2013/14. He received his trophy on Saturday, May 5, 2018, at half-time in the match between Athletic Club and Real Betis Balompié.

One-Club Man 2017
Sepp Maier
FC Bayern München

FC Bayern Munich’s goalkeeper Sepp Maier was the third winner of the One-Club Man Award. Maier was the man between the sticks at Bayern Munich for 13 seasons, from 1966/67 until 1978/79. The award ceremony took place on Friday, April 14, 2017, at half-time in the match between Athletic Club and UD Las Palmas.

One-Club Man 2016
Paolo Maldini
AC Milan

The winner of the second One-Club Man Award was AC Milan’s Paolo Maldini.  The legendary defender was at the Italian club for 25 seasons, from 1984/85 to 2008/09. The ceremony was held during the half-time break in Athletic Club’s match against Celta de Vigo on Sunday, May 1, 2016.

One-Club Man 2015
Matthew Le Tissier
Southampton FC

The first ever winner of the One-Club Man Award was Matt Le Tissier. The playmaker spent 17 seasons at Southampton FC between 1985/86 and 2001/02. He was presented with the award at half-time during the derby match between Athletic Club and Real Sociedad on Tuesday, April 28, 2015.